Monday, September 26, 2022
HomeNewsSena's Priyanka Chaturvedi Quits Parliament TV Show Over MPs' Suspension

Sena's Priyanka Chaturvedi Quits Parliament TV Show Over MPs' Suspension

Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi stepped down as an anchor for a Sansad TV present. (File)

New Delhi:

Shiv Sena MP Priyanka Chaturvedi on Sunday stepped down as an anchor for a present on the state-run Sansad TV channel in protest over the suspension of twelve MPs together with her from the Rajya Sabha over “unruly behaviour” final week. Ms Chaturvedi expressed her discontent on suspension from the Higher Home saying that it’s one thing which “has by no means occurred in parliament historical past.”

The opposition MPs had been suspended for the whole Winter session of the parliament for his or her alleged misbehaviour within the earlier session in August.

Resigning from Sansad TV which amongst public affairs exhibits additionally broadcasts programming of the 2 homes of parliament, Ms Chaturvedi posted on Koo, “It’s with anguish that I step down as anchor of @sansad_tv’s present Meri Kahani, I’m unwilling to occupy area on Sansad TV for a present however denied area on it for discharging parliament duties because of arbitrary suspension.”

“I have to step away,” she asserted.

“When as we speak highest variety of ladies MPs have been suspended for a complete session in recorded historical past of Rajya Sabha then I would like to talk up for them,” Ms Chaturvedi mentioned in one other submit, attaching a duplicate of her resignation letter to Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu.

The opposition has termed the suspension of the MPs as “undemocratic” and in violation of all the principles of process of the Rajya Sabha. The MPs additionally staged protests within the Parliament premises demanding revocation of the suspension.

The suspended MPs are Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain and Akhilesh Prasad Singh of the Congress, Binoy Viswam of CPI, Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri of Trinamool Congress, Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai of Shiv Sena.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments