Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeNewsIndian-American Math Genius Helps Solve Famous 1959 Problem

Indian-American Math Genius Helps Solve Famous 1959 Problem

Indian-American Math Genius Nikhil Srivastava Helps Solve Famous 1959 Problem

Indian-American mathematician Nikhil Srivastava is one amongst 3 winners of The Ciprian Foias Prize


Eminent Indian-American mathematician Nikhil Srivastava, who teaches on the College of California, Berkeley, has been collectively chosen for the inaugural Ciprian Foias Prize in Operator Idea by American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Together with Nikhil Srivastava, the 2 different awardees are Adam Marcus and Daniel Spielman. Adam Marcus holds the Chair of Combinatorial Evaluation on the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) in Switzerland. Daniel Spielman is Sterling Professor of Laptop Science, a professor of statistics and information science, and a professor of arithmetic.

The award recognises their extremely unique work that launched and developed strategies for understanding the attribute polynomial of matrices, particularly the iterative sparsification technique (additionally in collaboration with Batson) and the strategy of interlacing polynomials, a media launch stated.

“Collectively, these concepts supplied a strong toolkit with many purposes, notably within the trio’s breakthrough paper “Interlacing households II: combined attribute polynomials and the Kadison-Singer drawback” (Annals of Arithmetic, 2015), which solves the well-known “paving drawback” in operator principle, formulated by Richard Kadison and Isadore Singer in 1959,” American Mathematical Society stated.

In a joint assertion, the three awardees stated they want to settle for it on behalf of the many individuals whose work contributed to the decision of the Kadison-Singer drawback.

“Our involvement was the ultimate chapter of a tremendous story we hope will encourage related options to troublesome issues sooner or later,” they stated.

The prize shall be offered to Professor Nikhil Srivastava and his colleagues on January 5 subsequent 12 months on the 2022 Joint Arithmetic Assembly in Seattle, described as “the biggest arithmetic gathering on this planet.”

The Ciprian Foias Prize is the third main prize received by Nikhil Srivastava, who earlier collectively received the George Polya Prize in 2014, and the Held prize in 2021.

(Aside from the headline, this story has not been edited by wantpassport employees and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments