Wednesday, January 26, 2022
HomeNewsBJP Wins Chandigarh Mayor Race By 1 Vote. "Illegally Elected," Says AAP

BJP Wins Chandigarh Mayor Race By 1 Vote. "Illegally Elected," Says AAP

BJP Wins Chandigarh Mayor Race By 1 Vote. 'Illegally Elected,' Says AAP

The AAP has protested the outcomes of the Chandigarh mayoral race after the BJP pipped it by one vote


The Aam Aadmi Celebration has claimed the “stunning loss of life of democracy” after a BJP chief – Municipal Councillor Sarabjit Kaur – was declared the winner of the mayoral race in Chandigarh yesterday, beating out the AAP’s Anju Katyal by one vote.

Sarabjit Kaur and Anju Katyal each polled 14 of 28 polled votes however the former was declared the winner after one vote in favour Anju Katyal was dominated to be invalid.

“SHOCKING DEATH OF DEMOCRACY| DC (District Collector) illegally elected BJP’s Mayor regardless of AAP profitable extra seats. AAP senior leaders are ready outdoors his workplace, however he now refuses to fulfill them,” the AAP tweeted Saturday.

The AAP’s Punjab MLA, Jarnail Singh, additionally hit out on the try to ‘kill democracy’.

“Congress councillors instantly joined BJP after BJP witnessed lowered variety of seats. Even after that, BJP took assist from the paperwork when the votes turned out to be low in quantity. It’s an try of killing democracy by misrepresenting proper votes,” he was quoted by information company ANI.

Mr Singh claimed the mayoral ballot outcomes was proof of “a clandestine understanding between the BJP and the Congress” to defeat the AAP.

Chandigarh civic polls, declared final week, threw up a hung home after the AAP produced a sterling efficiency to win 14 of 35 wards. The BJP gained 12, the Congress eight and the Akali Dal one.

Within the race to elect the mayor, of 36 obtainable votes solely 28 have been polled as a result of seven Congress councillors and the lone Akali consultant abstained.

The BJP’s vote depend elevated by one after the Congress’ Harpreet Kaur Babla and her husband, the ex-Vice President of the get together’s native unit, joined the BJP on January 2. The 14th vote was from Lok Sabha MP Kirron Kher, who’s eligible to vote as an ex-officio member of the municipal company.

The AAP thought it too had 14 votes however, after one was declared invalid, the BJP candidate was declared the winner race. After this there was a ruckus, with AAP members reaching close to the mayor’s chair and holding a protest. In addition they tried to cease the brand new Mayor from addressing the Home.

The BJP additionally gained the Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts; the Congress and Akali abstained from voting in these polls as nicely.

The BJP’s Dalip Sharma gained the Senior Deputy Mayor seat beating the AAP’s Prem Lata by 15 votes to 13. Mr Sharma even managed to safe one vote from an AAP councillor.


Anup Gupta was declared Deputy Mayor after a draw of heaps as a result of he and the AAP’s Ram Chander Yadav every had 14 votes.

With enter from ANI



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments