Saturday, August 20, 2022
HomeNewsBJP, Congress Get 11 Seats Each In Karnataka Upper House Elections

BJP, Congress Get 11 Seats Each In Karnataka Upper House Elections

BJP, Congress Get 11 Seats Each In Karnataka Upper House Elections


The ruling BJP in Karnataka fell in need of majority within the Legislative Council as we speak, profitable solely 11 of the 25 Legislative Council seats for which voting was held final Friday. The Congress fared no higher, profitable one other 11 seats, leaving HD Kumaraswamy’s Janata Dal Secular ready to make the distinction within the Council, regardless of a drop within the variety of their seats. The JDS gained two of the six seats it contested — in Hassan with Suraj Revanna, a grandson of former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, and one other seat in Mysuru.  

The BJP hoped to realize this majority within the 75-member home, so it could not need to rely any longer on the JDS for passage of Payments. A celebration wants 38 members to achieve majority.

However its principal concern — that the Congress, which had 29 members — will obtain majority or get shut sufficient to affix palms with the JDS and block payments, didn’t materialize both.

The BJP, which had 32 members in the home, now has 36 members. The Congress, which had 29 members, now stands at 26. The JDS has slid from 12 to 10.

The biennial election to the Council was held after the retirement of sitting council members. Of the outgoing members, 14 have been from the Congress, seven from the BJP and 4 from the JDS.

On Friday, 20 BJP candidates, 20 Congress candidates and 6 candidates of the JDS have been within the race. Altogether, there have been 90 candidates contesting for the 25 seats.  

The variety of eligible voters — elected representatives from native our bodies throughout 20 districts of the state –was 99025.  

The elections have been seen as a second probability for Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, who had misplaced face with the celebration’s embarrassing defeat in final month’s meeting by-election for the Hanagal seat.
The seat was a part of the Chief Minister’s dwelling district of Haveri the place he had campaigned extensively for the candidate.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments